The goal of the Kansas Sunshine Coalition is to promote awareness of open and transparent government in Kansas. Our members help keep the public informed of the abuses of open government and hold elected officials accountable for those actions that ignore the public’s legal right to truly public meetings and access to government records.

The Kansas Sunshine Coalition was founded in 1999 by the director of the Elliott School of Communication at Wichita State University. Its sponsors are the Kansas Association of Broadcasters, the Kansas Press Association, and the Kansas Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Its secretariat services were performed by the Kansas Press Association from 2000 until 2005, when Wichita State University’s Elliott School of Communication assumed those services. Its operations and affairs are currently undertaken by Ron Keefover, Coalition President. While the Elliott School remains host for the Coalition, its financial affairs were transferred in 2014 to the Coalition Treasurer, Kent Cornish, President and Executive Director of the Kansas Association of Broadcasters.

The Coalition’s 12-member Board of Directors includes the executive directors of the three founding entities, Kansas Association of Broadcasters, Kansas Press Association, and the Kansas Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. Those non-profit organizations each appoint three members of the Sunshine Coalition Board, and the remaining three are elected by the Board at-large.

Through its founding sponsors, the Elliott School, and other media outlets and citizens,The Coalition is dedicated to the principle that open government is essential to a democratic society. Its major focus is to promote open government through publications, videos, and education. It works to strengthen application of existing open meetings and open records laws and to monitor legislative activities related to open government at all levels of government.